Archive for February 6, 2006

No Way!

Posted in Stuff on February 6, 2006 by Leonard

Me performing “FLIP/ROCK” over metal riffs? NO WAY!

reallovefront
Feb. 17 @ KnightFlight Studio 721 Queen W doors @ 9pm $15 at the door

Me performing “I AM THE STRUGGLE” over tribal percussion? NO WAY!

flipside_front
Feb 24 + 25 @ Kapisanan Philippine Centre 167 Augusta Ave @8pm $15 at the door

SPREAD THE WORDS.

Here and There

Posted in Stuff on February 6, 2006 by Leonard


Here

– Yesterday was week #2 of my From the Bamboo Poetry workshop at Kapisanan. I’m proud of what I’m doing. Yesterday, I led the group in created a Poem on ‘Love’ in 5 short Tanagas, which is an ancient Filipino poetic form that is dying out. We kept it alive. I’m proud. This will be an amazing project.

– Caroline came back with great news. I’m so proud of my friends and there’s a big hole in me that misses the days when my life seemed more innocent – that was just two seasons ago. imagine.


There

I figured I’d check in on Romeo to see what he’s up to and what his hair looks like today and the news on his blog made me so so sad.

Makes me wonder what the real objective us. People are dying in the Philippines rushing for free money and we’re in KPC reciting poetry. I dunno, man.

http://spaces.msn.com/balikblogger

this is from his blog.

February 04
wowowee tragedy
“MANILA, Philippines – At least 88 people were trampled to death early Saturday in a stampede outside a stadium where thousands of people had gathered to watch a popular TV game show, the Philippine Red Cross said.” So, while i get to live my dream here, there were many pinoys killed trying to get into a stadium to win prizes for the philippines equivalent of ‘the price is right’. people lined up for days just to get a ticket for this game show that was celebrating its anniversary. now for so many, their life is over or totally screwed up. my god. so sad. the mood in the city is so sad. that’s the thing about poverty. it’s oppressive. and people resort to grasping at straws to get some relief from their economic situation. my god, on tv there are children singing songs. the show has to go on. but underneath, there is a real gloom on the air. what a tragedy in a country so full of it already. its wierd, cuz i pass that stadium all the time to go to my friends’ house, carlos and tessa. just there, and i have seen the crowds at that stadium on sundays when big religious gatherings take place. just there…5 minutes away. and a stampede for a gameshow. god bless all those who lost their loved ones. many children and old people. my god. so sad. for those in canada, just be grateful.