Self Contained Underwater Breathing Apparatus.

Thanks, Alex P. Keaton.

Sha-na, na-naaaah.  Sit Ubu Sit.  Good Dog.

Today in a pitch meeting, a potential client who owns a Caribbean vacation resort commented that the agency that gets the work should know about their product, for example like “what does S.C.U.B.A. stand for?”

As if possessed, I blurted out, “SELF CONTAINED UNDERWATER BREATHING APPARATUS!”

Everyone in the boardroom looked at me with wide eyes and commented, “How did you know that?” I just shrugged.

After the meeting, I realized that I had gleaned this knowledge at the age of 14, while watching a Family Ties episode where Alex was helping Mallory prepare for a test.

Coming to terms with the fact that I was raised by the television, I was glad the client didn’t ask me “Which body of water is a navigable route immediately south of mainland South America?”

I would have recalled the episode where Alex was on Reach for the Top (the high school trivia game show) and was asked the same question, to which he immediately got stage fright and stuttered,

“The Straits of Maaaa…… The Straits of Maaaaa………”

(the answer was The Straits of Magellan)

.

4 Responses to “Self Contained Underwater Breathing Apparatus.”

  1. haha luuurve family ties… i remember that episode too :o)

  2. I’m just waiting for someone to ask me who Jazz’s best friend is. So I can answer…
    “Well Bob, let’s go back and first define this thing we call friendship…the ancient Mayans…EEENNNNNHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!”

  3. Reblogged this on meganvillablog and commented:
    This is so me! My co-workers and I were recently discussing SCUBA and nobody knew what it meant. I blurted it out and everyone turned and looked at me in surprise. I had to explain to them about the episode of Family Ties from 31 years ago. I can even remember the sing-song memorization she used to repeat it. And yes, Straights of Maa…
    Then I promptly headed to half.com to purchase the entire series to watch with my 12 year old son.

  4. […] was an acronym for “Self-Contained Underwater Breathing Apparatus” from the infamous “Stage Fright” episode of Family Ties. (and I apparently was not the only one so […]

Leave a Reply

